Ryokan Ichinoi旅館 壱の井
Shared OKInn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026

What the 28 stays we checked in Kurokawa (Kumamoto) publish about tattoos, researched on each stay's official site (exceptions labelled) with the evidence on the stay's own page. Data checked 11 Oct 2026.
2 of the 28 stays we checked publish a rule that lets tattooed guests bathe (verified — 1 of them only if a sticker covers the tattoo); 24 more are possible: a hot-spring private bath is listed, but the inn hasn't stated a tattoo rule (our inference, not a promise). Of the rest, 2 publish nothing about tattoos.
Written rules first: the stay itself (or its operator) says tattooed guests may use the shared bath, may use it if the tattoo is covered, or may use a private hot-spring bath. Then the stays that list a hot-spring private bath but say nothing about tattoos — that one is our inference.
“Check prices” links may earn us a commission. We add no fee, and it never changes a status. Disclosure
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: Tattoos refused except small point/fashion tattoos, which are allowed if declared in advance and guests are considerate of others. The inn recommends its family baths (guest-only, same-day booking, first use free).
Inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
A hot-spring private bath is listed but the inn has not stated a tattoo rule. A private bath means nobody else is in the water, so a shared-bath rule may not apply — our inference, not the inn's word. Ask before you book.
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath, booked at the inn on the day — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath, no reservation (use it when free) — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath, booked at the inn on the day — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath, no reservation (use it when free) — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath, no reservation (use it when free) — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath, no reservation (use it when free) — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
None of the 28 stays we checked in Kurokawa publishes a rule that does not permit tattoos.
These 2 stays' official sites say nothing about tattoos. Silence is not a yes.
Lists a private bath, but not stated to be hot-spring water
Each stay's page has a polite Japanese message you can copy and send before booking — or read our guide on asking.
How to ask a ryokan →A schematic of the 28 stays above, by status. Every stay on it is also in the lists above.
Each pin sits in the free spot nearest its position in our data, so none overlap. Not a street map.
Kurokawa Onsen is a small onsen town in a valley in Minamioguni, in the Aso area of Kumamoto Prefecture.
The inns sell a wooden pass, the Nyuto Tegata, that lets visitors use the outdoor baths of several inns.
There is no railway station in the town; visitors arrive by road.
由布院 · OitaYufuin25 stays checked · 0 verified · 20 possiblePhoto: Miya.m (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY-SA 3.0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
別府 · OitaBeppu15 stays checked · 2 verified · 11 possiblePhoto: FIND/47 project (photographer not named) (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY 4.0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
雲仙 · NagasakiUnzen11 stays checked · 3 verified · 6 possiblePhoto: 663highland (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY 2.5 (licence, opens in a new tab)
指宿 · KagoshimaIbusuki15 stays checked · 0 verified · 8 possiblePhoto: The Modern Polymath (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY-SA 4.0 (licence, opens in a new tab)Researched by the Tattoo Onsen Japan editors from each stay's official site (exceptions — a prefecture database or an operator's group-wide policy — are labelled on the stay's page). Data checked 11 Oct 2026. English translations are ours.
Rules change. Before booking, read the stay's page and, if in doubt, ask the stay. How we verify →