Guide · Region

Onsen in Kyushu

We checked 102 stays in 6 onsen towns in Kyushu. 9 publish a rule that lets tattooed guests bathe; 69 more have a hot-spring private bath but have not stated a rule; 6 publish a no-tattoo rule and 17 publish nothing.

The short answer

9 of the 102 stays we checked in Kyushu publish a rule that lets a tattooed guest bathe. 69 more list a hot-spring private bath but state no rule — it may provide an alternative, but the inn has not stated a tattoo rule (our inference); confirm before booking. 6 publish a no-tattoo rule and 17 publish nothing.

  • Shared OK 4
  • Covered OK 4
  • Private only 2
  • Private likely 69
  • Not allowed 6
  • Says nothing 17

Town by town

Kyushu is the southernmost of Japan's four main islands. Our register covers Unzen, Kurokawa, Beppu, Fukuoka, Yufuin and Ibusuki here, in Fukuoka, Kagoshima, Kumamoto, Nagasaki and Oita.

The most written ways in are in Unzen (3), Kurokawa (2) and Beppu (2). For private baths without a stated rule, Kurokawa has the most (24).

6 onsen towns in Kyushu, by written ways in
TownStays checkedWritten way inPrivate bath likelyNo-tattoo ruleSay nothingBeing re-checked
UnzenNagasaki1136010
KurokawaKumamoto28224020
BeppuOita15211200
FukuokaFukuoka820420
YufuinOita25020050
IbusukiKagoshima1508070

Stays with a written way in

These 9 stays publish a rule that lets a tattooed guest bathe — in the shared bath, with a cover sticker, or in a confirmed hot-spring private bath. Quotes are our translations; open a stay for the source and the date we checked.

Written ways in in Kyushu (our translations)
StayStatusWhat the source says
Kai BeppuBeppu · OitaShared OKRespecting our guests' cultural backgrounds and values, we do not restrict use by guests with irezumi (traditional tattoos) or tattoos.Operator's group-wide rule
Chikugogawa Onsen KiyonoyaFukuoka · FukuokaShared OKTattoo acceptance / PermittedPrefecture / tourism-bureau database
Ryokan IchinoiKurokawa · KumamotoShared OKWe do not restrict tattoos.
Hoshino Resorts Kai UnzenUnzen · NagasakiShared OKRespecting our guests' cultural backgrounds and values, we do not restrict use by guests with irezumi (traditional tattoos) or tattoos.Operator's group-wide rule
Okamotoya RyokanBeppu · OitaCovered OK(d) When the guest has tattoos (including Western-style tattoos). However, this does not apply to small tattoos of about a single point. …The inn's terms allow it to refuse the stay, not only the baths.
Futsukaichi Onsen Daimaru BessoFukuoka · FukuokaCovered OKTattoo acceptance / Permitted if covered with one small foundation tape.Prefecture / tourism-bureau database
YumerindoKurokawa · KumamotoCovered OKGuests with tattoos are refused bathing. *However, on the premise that you declare it in advance and are considerate of other guests, we permit bathing for point tattoos (fashion tattoos).
ToyokanUnzen · NagasakiCovered OK(2) Persons with tattoos * Except where they can be completely covered with two of the facility's designated stickers
AzumaenUnzen · NagasakiPrivate onlyTo maintain an environment where all guests can relax, Higashien asks [guests with tattoos] to refrain from using the large shared bath. [This is the answer to the FAQ question about tattoos; bracketed words added by us.]

Private bath likely

69 stays in Kyushu list a private hot-spring bath but say nothing about tattoos: 24 in Kurokawa, 20 in Yufuin, 11 in Beppu, 8 in Ibusuki, 6 in Unzen. The town pages list each one with the bath type. Before you book one, ask — our Japanese message covers it — or read the private bath guide.

Stays with a no-tattoo rule

6 stays in Kyushu publish a rule that does not permit tattoos. Each stay page shows what the inn publishes about private or in-room baths, if anything.

Stays that publish nothing

17 stays in Kyushu publish no tattoo rule we could find — the most in Ibusuki, Yufuin and Kurokawa. That does not mean OK. Write before you book, or pick a stay from the lists above.

Onsen towns

Every status above comes from what the inn (or, where labelled, its operator or a prefecture database) publishes. We checked these sources by 12 Oct 2026. Rules change: staff on the day have the last word.

“Private bath likely” is our inference from a published listing of a private bath, not the inn's statement. “Says nothing” means we found no rule — it does not mean OK. English translations are ours. How we verify · About