Nikko Tokanso日光東観荘
Shared OKIn brief: Only "one-point" (small) tattoos, and only after 21:00 in the shared bath/open-air bath; larger tattoos not addressed.
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026

What the 17 stays we checked in Nikko (Tochigi) publish about tattoos, researched on each stay's official site (exceptions labelled) with the evidence on the stay's own page. Data checked 11 Oct 2026.
4 of the 17 stays we checked publish a rule that lets tattooed guests bathe (verified — 3 of them only if a sticker covers the tattoo); 4 more are possible: a hot-spring private bath is listed, but the inn hasn't stated a tattoo rule (our inference, not a promise). Of the rest, 2 publish a no-tattoo rule and 7 publish nothing about tattoos.
Written rules first: the stay itself (or its operator) says tattooed guests may use the shared bath, may use it if the tattoo is covered, or may use a private hot-spring bath. Then the stays that list a hot-spring private bath but say nothing about tattoos — that one is our inference.
“Check prices” links may earn us a commission. We add no fee, and it never changes a status. Disclosure
In brief: Only "one-point" (small) tattoos, and only after 21:00 in the shared bath/open-air bath; larger tattoos not addressed.
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: 原則 tattoos (incl. body paint/stickers) not allowed; only small 'point' tattoos covered with the hotel's sheet (10x14cm, ¥220)
Inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: Only if coverable by 2 hotel cover sheets (10x15cm, ¥250 each at front)
Inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: Oedo Onsen Monogatari group bath terms (apply to each accommodation facility of the group, effective 2024-11-01 (Reiwa 6)): entry refused unless fully covered by 2 inn-designated stickers.
Operator's group-wide rule · checked 11 Oct 2026
A hot-spring private bath is listed but the inn has not stated a tattoo rule. A private bath means nobody else is in the water, so a shared-bath rule may not apply — our inference, not the inn's word. Ask before you book.
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath, booked at the inn on the day — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
These 2 stays publish a rule that does not permit tattoos. Under each name: which baths the rule covers, what we found about a private bath, and whether the ban goes further. A listed private bath is not a yes — the inn has not said tattooed guests may use it, so ask.
Includes fashion tattoos; English page adds stickers/temporary tattoos.
The cited rule says tattooed guests may not use the shared bath. Private bath: not recorded.
'…のご利用…はご遠慮ください' — includes fashion tattoos.
The cited rule does not permit tattoos — see the stay page for which baths it covers. Private bath: not recorded.
These 7 stays' official sites say nothing about tattoos. Silence is not a yes.
Lists a private bath, but not stated to be hot-spring water
Lists a private bath, but not stated to be hot-spring water
Each stay's page has a polite Japanese message you can copy and send before booking — or read our guide on asking.
How to ask a ryokan →A schematic of the 17 stays above, by status. Every stay on it is also in the lists above.
Each pin sits in the free spot nearest its position in our data, so none overlap. Not a street map.
Nikko is in Tochigi Prefecture, north of Tokyo.
Its shrines and temples, including Toshogu, are a UNESCO World Heritage Site (inscribed 1999).
The stays we list under Nikko include Lake Chuzenji and Okunikko-Yumoto, higher in the mountains, as well as the town itself.
鬼怒川 · TochigiKinugawa21 stays checked · 7 verified · 3 possiblePhoto: Saigen Jiro (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
那須 · TochigiNasu13 stays checked · 0 verified · 6 possiblePhoto: 663highland (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY 2.5 (licence, opens in a new tab)
伊香保 · GunmaIkaho13 stays checked · 3 verified · 3 possiblePhoto: Liza Chan from Japan (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
四万 · GunmaShima Onsen11 stays checked · 1 verified · 9 possiblePhoto: Kentaro Ohno from Tokyo, Japan (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY 2.0 (licence, opens in a new tab)Researched by the Tattoo Onsen Japan editors from each stay's official site (exceptions — a prefecture database or an operator's group-wide policy — are labelled on the stay's page). Data checked 11 Oct 2026. English translations are ours.
Rules change. Before booking, read the stay's page and, if in doubt, ask the stay. How we verify →