Nasu Bettei Kai那須別邸 回
Private onlyIn brief: FAQ answers "can I stay with tattoos?" by pointing to the per-room bath; shared-bath rule not stated.
Private bath, but not hot-spring water
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026

What the 13 stays we checked in Nasu (Tochigi) publish about tattoos, researched on each stay's official site (exceptions labelled) with the evidence on the stay's own page. Data checked 11 Oct 2026.
None of the 13 stays we checked publishes a rule that lets tattooed guests bathe; 6 more are possible: a hot-spring private bath is listed, but the inn hasn't stated a tattoo rule (our inference, not a promise). Of the rest, 1 has a recorded rule or private bath that opens no hot-spring bath today, 1 publishes a no-tattoo rule, 4 publish nothing about tattoos and 1 is being re-checked.
Written rules first: the stay itself (or its operator) says tattooed guests may use the shared bath, may use it if the tattoo is covered, or may use a private hot-spring bath. Then the stays that list a hot-spring private bath but say nothing about tattoos — that one is our inference.
“Check prices” links may earn us a commission. We add no fee, and it never changes a status. Disclosure
None of the 13 stays we checked in Nasu publishes a rule that lets tattooed guests bathe.
A rule or a private bath is recorded, but here it does not lead to a hot-spring bath today: for example an operator policy that allows tattoos at a property with no shared bath on site, or a private bath that is not hot-spring water or not open yet. Not counted above.
In brief: FAQ answers "can I stay with tattoos?" by pointing to the per-room bath; shared-bath rule not stated.
Private bath, but not hot-spring water
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026
A hot-spring private bath is listed but the inn has not stated a tattoo rule. A private bath means nobody else is in the water, so a shared-bath rule may not apply — our inference, not the inn's word. Ask before you book.
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed by tochigiji.or.jp. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed by tochigiji.or.jp · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
This stay publishes a rule that does not permit tattoos. Under each name: which baths the rule covers, what we found about a private bath, and whether the ban goes further. A listed private bath is not a yes — the inn has not said tattooed guests may use it, so ask.
The cited rule says tattooed guests may not use the shared bath. Private bath: not recorded.
These 4 stays' official sites say nothing about tattoos. Silence is not a yes.
Lists a private bath, but not stated to be hot-spring water
Each stay's page has a polite Japanese message you can copy and send before booking — or read our guide on asking.
How to ask a ryokan →The stay's own pages contradict each other or are out of date. We show what we found on its page.
The rule is stated only for day bathers; overnight guests are not confirmed.
A schematic of the 13 stays above, by status. Every stay on it is also in the lists above.
Each pin sits in the free spot nearest its position in our data, so none overlap. Not a street map.
Nasu is in northern Tochigi Prefecture, on the slopes of the Nasu volcanoes below Mt Chausu.
The stays we list under Nasu are spread across the Nasu highlands and include smaller onsen such as Itamuro, Kita and Omaru.
鬼怒川 · TochigiKinugawa21 stays checked · 7 verified · 3 possiblePhoto: Saigen Jiro (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
日光 · TochigiNikko17 stays checked · 4 verified · 4 possiblePhoto: Miyuki Meinaka (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY-SA 4.0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
伊香保 · GunmaIkaho13 stays checked · 3 verified · 3 possiblePhoto: Liza Chan from Japan (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
四万 · GunmaShima Onsen11 stays checked · 1 verified · 9 possiblePhoto: Kentaro Ohno from Tokyo, Japan (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY 2.0 (licence, opens in a new tab)Researched by the Tattoo Onsen Japan editors from each stay's official site (exceptions — a prefecture database or an operator's group-wide policy — are labelled on the stay's page). Data checked 11 Oct 2026. English translations are ours.
Rules change. Before booking, read the stay's page and, if in doubt, ask the stay. How we verify →