Oyado Tamakiお宿玉樹
Covered OKIn brief: Otherwise tattoos refused in large baths regardless of occupation; cover seals at front desk / also rooms with open-air bath.
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026

What the 13 stays we checked in Ikaho (Gunma) publish about tattoos, researched on each stay's official site (exceptions labelled) with the evidence on the stay's own page. Data checked 11 Oct 2026.
3 of the 13 stays we checked publish a rule that lets tattooed guests bathe (verified — 2 of them only if a sticker covers the tattoo); 3 more are possible: a hot-spring private bath is listed, but the inn hasn't stated a tattoo rule (our inference, not a promise). Of the rest, 1 has a recorded rule or private bath that opens no hot-spring bath today, 2 publish a no-tattoo rule and 4 publish nothing about tattoos.
Written rules first: the stay itself (or its operator) says tattooed guests may use the shared bath, may use it if the tattoo is covered, or may use a private hot-spring bath. Then the stays that list a hot-spring private bath but say nothing about tattoos — that one is our inference.
“Check prices” links may earn us a commission. We add no fee, and it never changes a status. Disclosure
In brief: Otherwise tattoos refused in large baths regardless of occupation; cover seals at front desk / also rooms with open-air bath.
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: Also rooms with private onsen; private bath 3,850 yen/50 min, first-come booking.
Hot-spring bath in your room
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026
A rule or a private bath is recorded, but here it does not lead to a hot-spring bath today: for example an operator policy that allows tattoos at a property with no shared bath on site, or a private bath that is not hot-spring water or not open yet. Not counted above.
In brief: Book at the dedicated desk on check-in day; no advance booking.
Private bath, but not hot-spring water
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026
A hot-spring private bath is listed but the inn has not stated a tattoo rule. A private bath means nobody else is in the water, so a shared-bath rule may not apply — our inference, not the inn's word. Ask before you book.
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
These 2 stays publish a rule that does not permit tattoos. Under each name: which baths the rule covers, what we found about a private bath, and whether the ban goes further. A listed private bath is not a yes — the inn has not said tattooed guests may use it, so ask.
These 4 stays' official sites say nothing about tattoos. Silence is not a yes.
Lists a private bath, but not stated to be hot-spring water
Lists a private bath, but not stated to be hot-spring water
Lists a private bath, but not stated to be hot-spring water
Each stay's page has a polite Japanese message you can copy and send before booking — or read our guide on asking.
How to ask a ryokan →A schematic of the 13 stays above, by status. Every stay on it is also in the lists above.
Each pin sits in the free spot nearest its position in our data, so none overlap. Not a street map.
Ikaho Onsen is in Shibukawa, Gunma Prefecture, on the slopes of Mt Haruna.
Its main street is a long stone staircase lined with shops and inns.
四万 · GunmaShima Onsen11 stays checked · 1 verified · 9 possiblePhoto: Kentaro Ohno from Tokyo, Japan (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY 2.0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
草津 · GunmaKusatsu45 stays checked · 9 verified · 21 possiblePhoto: 雷太 (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY 2.0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
日光 · TochigiNikko17 stays checked · 4 verified · 4 possiblePhoto: Miyuki Meinaka (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY-SA 4.0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
鬼怒川 · TochigiKinugawa21 stays checked · 7 verified · 3 possiblePhoto: Saigen Jiro (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC0 (licence, opens in a new tab)Researched by the Tattoo Onsen Japan editors from each stay's official site (exceptions — a prefecture database or an operator's group-wide policy — are labelled on the stay's page). Data checked 11 Oct 2026. English translations are ours.
Rules change. Before booking, read the stay's page and, if in doubt, ask the stay. How we verify →