K's House Ito Onsenケイズハウス伊東温泉
Shared OKIn brief: English FAQ: 'Yes, we are tattoo friendly onsen hostel.'
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026

What the 28 stays we checked in Izu (Shizuoka) publish about tattoos, researched on each stay's official site (exceptions labelled) with the evidence on the stay's own page. Data checked 11 Oct 2026.
5 of the 28 stays we checked publish a rule that lets tattooed guests bathe (verified — 2 of them only if a sticker covers the tattoo); 13 more are possible: a hot-spring private bath is listed, but the inn hasn't stated a tattoo rule (our inference, not a promise). Of the rest, 2 have a recorded rule or private bath that opens no hot-spring bath today, 4 publish a no-tattoo rule and 4 publish nothing about tattoos.
Written rules first: the stay itself (or its operator) says tattooed guests may use the shared bath, may use it if the tattoo is covered, or may use a private hot-spring bath. Then the stays that list a hot-spring private bath but say nothing about tattoos — that one is our inference.
“Check prices” links may earn us a commission. We add no fee, and it never changes a status. Disclosure
In brief: English FAQ: 'Yes, we are tattoo friendly onsen hostel.'
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: Max two 8x10cm cover stickers; resort-wide large bath.
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: English FAQ: small tattoos that can be covered OK (leg, arm, stomach, back); whole-body or full-back tattoos not acceptable.
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: Public baths not allowed; private gazebo hot-spring baths offered instead (English FAQ).
Private hot-spring bath
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: Kyoritsu Resort group FAQ: no shared bath regardless of size; use room baths or private baths.
Private hot-spring bath, no reservation (use it when free)
Operator's group-wide rule · checked 11 Oct 2026
A rule or a private bath is recorded, but here it does not lead to a hot-spring bath today: for example an operator policy that allows tattoos at a property with no shared bath on site, or a private bath that is not hot-spring water or not open yet. Not counted above.
In brief: Private family baths and in-room baths both allowed.
Private bath, but not hot-spring water
Inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: Paid private open-air bath (requires stairs) and in-room baths.
Private bath, but not hot-spring water
Inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
A hot-spring private bath is listed but the inn has not stated a tattoo rule. A private bath means nobody else is in the water, so a shared-bath rule may not apply — our inference, not the inn's word. Ask before you book.
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath, reservable — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath, booked at the inn on the day — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
These 4 stays publish a rule that does not permit tattoos. Under each name: which baths the rule covers, what we found about a private bath, and whether the ban goes further. A listed private bath is not a yes — the inn has not said tattooed guests may use it, so ask.
The cited rule says tattooed guests may not use the shared bath. Private bath: not recorded.
Even covered with seals.
The cited rule does not permit tattoos — see the stay page for which baths it covers. Private bath: not recorded.
Tattoo-style paint/stickers also refused.
The cited rule says tattooed guests may not use the shared bath. Private bath: not recorded.
Tattoo-style paint/stickers also refused.
The cited rule says tattooed guests may not use the shared bath. Private bath: not recorded.
These 4 stays' official sites say nothing about tattoos. Silence is not a yes.
Lists a private bath, but not stated to be hot-spring water
Lists a private bath, but not stated to be hot-spring water
Lists a private bath, but not stated to be hot-spring water
Each stay's page has a polite Japanese message you can copy and send before booking — or read our guide on asking.
How to ask a ryokan →A schematic of the 28 stays above, by status. Every stay on it is also in the lists above.
Each pin sits in the free spot nearest its position in our data, so none overlap. Not a street map.
The Izu Peninsula in Shizuoka Prefecture has many separate onsen towns.
The stays we list under Izu are spread across the peninsula — among them Shuzenji, Ito, Inatori, Atagawa and Shimoda — so check which town a stay is in.
Atami, at the peninsula’s north-east base, has its own page.
熱海 · ShizuokaAtami26 stays checked · 6 verified · 10 possiblePhoto: Ryohei Noda (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY 4.0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
河口湖 · YamanashiKawaguchiko21 stays checked · 3 verified · 7 possiblePhoto: Marion & Christoph Aistleitner (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
高山 · GifuTakayama22 stays checked · 2 verified · 6 possiblePhoto: 663highland (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY 2.5 (licence, opens in a new tab)
箱根 · KanagawaHakone23 stays checked · 7 verified · 8 possiblePhoto: Charlie fong (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY-SA 4.0 (licence, opens in a new tab)Researched by the Tattoo Onsen Japan editors from each stay's official site (exceptions — a prefecture database or an operator's group-wide policy — are labelled on the stay's page). Data checked 11 Oct 2026. English translations are ours.
Rules change. Before booking, read the stay's page and, if in doubt, ask the stay. How we verify →