Fukuzumiro福住楼
Shared OKIn brief: Family bath, no booking needed; tattoo 'no restrictions' applies house-wide.
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026

What the 23 stays we checked in Hakone (Kanagawa) publish about tattoos, researched on each stay's official site (exceptions labelled) with the evidence on the stay's own page. Data checked 11 Oct 2026.
7 of the 23 stays we checked publish a rule that lets tattooed guests bathe (verified — 2 of them only if a sticker covers the tattoo); 8 more are possible: a hot-spring private bath is listed, but the inn hasn't stated a tattoo rule (our inference, not a promise). Of the rest, 3 have a recorded rule or private bath that opens no hot-spring bath today, 3 publish a no-tattoo rule, 1 publishes nothing about tattoos and 1 is being re-checked.
Written rules first: the stay itself (or its operator) says tattooed guests may use the shared bath, may use it if the tattoo is covered, or may use a private hot-spring bath. Then the stays that list a hot-spring private bath but say nothing about tattoos — that one is our inference.
“Check prices” links may earn us a commission. We add no fee, and it never changes a status. Disclosure
In brief: Family bath, no booking needed; tattoo 'no restrictions' applies house-wide.
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: Small one-point tattoos (up to about A4 size) are allowed in the large shared bath and pool as is. Larger ones are directed to the private open-air bath.
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: Hoshino Resorts group-wide rule (the property onsen page links to the group FAQ; no property-specific exception found). Staff may refuse the large bath if they judge other guests could feel afraid.
Operator's group-wide rule · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: No longer refused just for having tattoos (Seibu Prince group change, 2026-07-01), but the inn's bath pages now say use "may be partly restricted" depending on the situation; the group notice says some facilities may be excluded. Confirm with the inn.
Inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: あいにくタトゥー/刺青をしているお客様は大浴場をご利用いただけません。 Small tattoos covered by a cover sticker 'may' be allowed / lockable family bath (no reservation needed), or book a room with open-air bath.
Inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: Allowed only if covered by up to two 10x14cm cover seals (sold at front, 250 yen each); otherwise refused in public bath/open-air bath/pool.
Inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: Guests with tattoos are directed to the in-room open-air bath or the family bath.
Private hot-spring bath, no reservation (use it when free)
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026
A rule or a private bath is recorded, but here it does not lead to a hot-spring bath today: for example an operator policy that allows tattoos at a property with no shared bath on site, or a private bath that is not hot-spring water or not open yet. Not counted above.
In brief: Large bath refused regardless of size. 3 free private open-air baths (first-come). Room hinoki baths are not hot-spring.
Private bath, but not hot-spring water
Operator's group-wide rule · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: Large bath refused regardless of size. 3 free private open-air baths in the garden (first-come). In-room baths in some rooms are not hot-spring.
Private bath, but not hot-spring water
Operator's group-wide rule · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: Private open-air baths 乙女の湯/金時の湯, 45 min 2,200 yen, booked at check-in; or rooms with open-air bath.
Private bath, but not hot-spring water
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026
A hot-spring private bath is listed but the inn has not stated a tattoo rule. A private bath means nobody else is in the water, so a shared-bath rule may not apply — our inference, not the inn's word. Ask before you book.
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath, reservable — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
These 3 stays publish a rule that does not permit tattoos. Under each name: which baths the rule covers, what we found about a private bath, and whether the ban goes further. A listed private bath is not a yes — the inn has not said tattooed guests may use it, so ask.
Stated under both panoramic public baths; the 3 private baths carry no tattoo note.
The cited rule says tattooed guests may not use the shared bath. Private bath: not recorded.
Stated for the 5F/6F public baths.
The cited rule says tattooed guests may not use the shared bath. Private bath: not recorded.
House rules (item 13) also refuse the public bath incl. one-point fashion tattoos and ask tattoos to be covered in public spaces.
The cited rule says tattooed guests may not use the shared bath. Private bath: not recorded.
This stay's official site says nothing about tattoos. Silence is not a yes.
Lists a private bath, but not stated to be hot-spring water
Each stay's page has a polite Japanese message you can copy and send before booking — or read our guide on asking.
How to ask a ryokan →The stay's own pages contradict each other or are out of date. We show what we found on its page.
The inn's own pages say different things; both statements are on its page.
A schematic of the 23 stays above, by status. Every stay on it is also in the lists above.
Each pin sits in the free spot nearest its position in our data, so none overlap. Not a street map.
Hakone is a mountain resort area in western Kanagawa Prefecture, made up of several onsen villages.
It includes Lake Ashi and Owakudani, a volcanic valley with steaming vents.
伊香保 · GunmaIkaho13 stays checked · 3 verified · 3 possiblePhoto: Liza Chan from Japan (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
草津 · GunmaKusatsu45 stays checked · 9 verified · 21 possiblePhoto: 雷太 (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY 2.0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
四万 · GunmaShima Onsen11 stays checked · 1 verified · 9 possiblePhoto: Kentaro Ohno from Tokyo, Japan (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY 2.0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
日光 · TochigiNikko17 stays checked · 4 verified · 4 possiblePhoto: Miyuki Meinaka (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY-SA 4.0 (licence, opens in a new tab)Researched by the Tattoo Onsen Japan editors from each stay's official site (exceptions — a prefecture database or an operator's group-wide policy — are labelled on the stay's page). Data checked 11 Oct 2026. English translations are ours.
Rules change. Before booking, read the stay's page and, if in doubt, ask the stay. How we verify →