Dogo Miyu道後御湯
Private onlyIn brief: Every room has a private open-air hot-spring bath.
Hot-spring bath in your room
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026

What the 23 stays we checked in Dogo (Ehime) publish about tattoos, researched on each stay's official site (exceptions labelled) with the evidence on the stay's own page. Data checked 11 Oct 2026.
1 of the 23 stays we checked publishes a rule that lets tattooed guests bathe (verified); 9 more are possible: a hot-spring private bath is listed, but the inn hasn't stated a tattoo rule (our inference, not a promise). Of the rest, 1 has a recorded rule or private bath that opens no hot-spring bath today, 4 publish a no-tattoo rule, 7 publish nothing about tattoos and 1 is being re-checked.
Written rules first: the stay itself (or its operator) says tattooed guests may use the shared bath, may use it if the tattoo is covered, or may use a private hot-spring bath. Then the stays that list a hot-spring private bath but say nothing about tattoos — that one is our inference.
“Check prices” links may earn us a commission. We add no fee, and it never changes a status. Disclosure
In brief: Every room has a private open-air hot-spring bath.
Hot-spring bath in your room
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026
A rule or a private bath is recorded, but here it does not lead to a hot-spring bath today: for example an operator policy that allows tattoos at a property with no shared bath on site, or a private bath that is not hot-spring water or not open yet. Not counted above.
In brief: Shared bath refused; in-room bath only.
Private bath, but not hot-spring water
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026
A hot-spring private bath is listed but the inn has not stated a tattoo rule. A private bath means nobody else is in the water, so a shared-bath rule may not apply — our inference, not the inn's word. Ask before you book.
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath, reservable — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferenceHot-spring bath in your room — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
These 4 stays publish a rule that does not permit tattoos. Under each name: which baths the rule covers, what we found about a private bath, and whether the ban goes further. A listed private bath is not a yes — the inn has not said tattooed guests may use it, so ask.
The cited rule says tattooed guests may not use the shared bath. Private bath: not recorded.
FAQ shared by 茶玻瑠 and 夢蔵; Yumekura guests use Chaharu's main baths.
The cited rule says tattooed guests may not use the shared bath. Private bath: not recorded.
The cited rule does not permit tattoos — see the stay page for which baths it covers. Private bath: not recorded.
Rooms have ordinary (non-onsen) baths: お部屋のお風呂は温泉ではございません.
The cited rule does not permit tattoos — see the stay page for which baths it covers. We found no private bath.
These 7 stays' official sites say nothing about tattoos. Silence is not a yes.
Lists a private bath, but not stated to be hot-spring water
Lists a private bath, but not stated to be hot-spring water
Each stay's page has a polite Japanese message you can copy and send before booking — or read our guide on asking.
How to ask a ryokan →The stay's own pages contradict each other or are out of date. We show what we found on its page.
The rule is stated only for day bathers; overnight guests are not confirmed.
A schematic of the 23 stays above, by status. Every stay on it is also in the lists above.
Each pin sits in the free spot nearest its position in our data, so none overlap. Not a street map.
Dogo Onsen is in Matsuyama, Ehime Prefecture, on the island of Shikoku.
Its public bathhouse, Dogo Onsen Honkan, is a designated Important Cultural Property of Japan.
A tram line connects Dogo with central Matsuyama.
別府 · OitaBeppu15 stays checked · 2 verified · 11 possiblePhoto: FIND/47 project (photographer not named) (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY 4.0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
由布院 · OitaYufuin25 stays checked · 0 verified · 20 possiblePhoto: Miya.m (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY-SA 3.0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
黒川 · KumamotoKurokawa28 stays checked · 2 verified · 24 possiblePhoto: MaedaAkihiko (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
玉造 · ShimaneTamatsukuri11 stays checked · 1 verified · 5 possiblePhoto: Editor0206 (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC0 (licence, opens in a new tab)Researched by the Tattoo Onsen Japan editors from each stay's official site (exceptions — a prefecture database or an operator's group-wide policy — are labelled on the stay's page). Data checked 11 Oct 2026. English translations are ours.
Rules change. Before booking, read the stay's page and, if in doubt, ask the stay. How we verify →