What the 23 stays we checked in Arima (Hyogo) publish about tattoos, researched on each stay's official site (exceptions labelled) with the evidence on the stay's own page. Data checked 11 Oct 2026.
3 of the 23 stays we checked publish a rule that lets tattooed guests bathe (verified); 10 more are possible: a hot-spring private bath is listed, but the inn hasn't stated a tattoo rule (our inference, not a promise). Of the rest, 2 have a recorded rule or private bath that opens no hot-spring bath today, 5 publish a no-tattoo rule and 3 publish nothing about tattoos.
Written rules first: the stay itself (or its operator) says tattooed guests may use the shared bath, may use it if the tattoo is covered, or may use a private hot-spring bath. Then the stays that list a hot-spring private bath but say nothing about tattoos — that one is our inference.
“Check prices” links may earn us a commission. We add no fee, and it never changes a status. Disclosure
In brief: The inn has no large bath at all. Every room has its own kinsen (gold hot-spring) open-air bath, so tattooed guests bathe in-room. The terms clause "11.刺青の方の大浴場の入浴はお断り" is boilerplate for a bath that does not exist.
A rule or a private bath is recorded, but here it does not lead to a hot-spring bath today: for example an operator policy that allows tattoos at a property with no shared bath on site, or a private bath that is not hot-spring water or not open yet. Not counted above.
A hot-spring private bath is listed but the inn has not stated a tattoo rule. A private bath means nobody else is in the water, so a shared-bath rule may not apply — our inference, not the inn's word. Ask before you book.
These 5 stays publish a rule that does not permit tattoos. Under each name: which baths the rule covers, what we found about a private bath, and whether the ban goes further. A listed private bath is not a yes — the inn has not said tattooed guests may use it, so ask.
No private/reservable bath; some rooms have non-onsen in-room baths (not stated as a tattoo option)
The cited rule says tattooed guests may not use the shared bath. Lists a private bath (not hot-spring water); not stated whether tattooed guests may use it.
Researched by the Tattoo Onsen Japan editors from each stay's official site (exceptions — a prefecture database or an operator's group-wide policy — are labelled on the stay's page). Data checked 11 Oct 2026. English translations are ours.
Rules change. Before booking, read the stay's page and, if in doubt, ask the stay. How we verify →