Ooedo Onsen Monogatari Kounkaku大江戸温泉物語 幸雲閣
Covered OKIn brief: Paid inn-designated cover sticker must fully cover the tattoo; group terms: up to 2 stickers.
Inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026

What the 12 stays we checked in Naruko (Miyagi) publish about tattoos, researched on each stay's official site (exceptions labelled) with the evidence on the stay's own page. Data checked 11 Oct 2026.
3 of the 12 stays we checked publish a rule that lets tattooed guests bathe (verified — 2 of them only if a sticker covers the tattoo); 5 more are possible: a hot-spring private bath is listed, but the inn hasn't stated a tattoo rule (our inference, not a promise). Of the rest, 4 publish nothing about tattoos.
Written rules first: the stay itself (or its operator) says tattooed guests may use the shared bath, may use it if the tattoo is covered, or may use a private hot-spring bath. Then the stays that list a hot-spring private bath but say nothing about tattoos — that one is our inference.
“Check prices” links may earn us a commission. We add no fee, and it never changes a status. Disclosure
In brief: Paid inn-designated cover sticker must fully cover the tattoo; group terms: up to 2 stickers.
Inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: Paid inn-designated cover sticker must fully cover the tattoo; group terms: up to 2 stickers.
Inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
In brief: 4 free private baths, first-come (not reservable in advance per FAQ); in-room onsen baths also pointed to, but only special rooms/annexes have them.
Private hot-spring bath
Inn's official FAQ · checked 11 Oct 2026
A hot-spring private bath is listed but the inn has not stated a tattoo rule. A private bath means nobody else is in the water, so a shared-bath rule may not apply — our inference, not the inn's word. Ask before you book.
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
Our inferencePrivate hot-spring bath — listed on the inn's official site. The inn has not published a tattoo rule.
No tattoo rule published · private bath listed on the inn's official site · checked 11 Oct 2026
None of the 12 stays we checked in Naruko publishes a rule that does not permit tattoos.
These 4 stays' official sites say nothing about tattoos. Silence is not a yes.
Lists a private bath, but not stated to be hot-spring water
Each stay's page has a polite Japanese message you can copy and send before booking — or read our guide on asking.
How to ask a ryokan →A schematic of the 12 stays above, by status. Every stay on it is also in the lists above.
Each pin sits in the free spot nearest its position in our data, so none overlap. Not a street map.
Naruko Onsen is in Osaki, in north-western Miyagi Prefecture.
Naruko Gorge is close to the town, and Naruko is one of the home towns of kokeshi wooden dolls.
銀山 · YamagataGinzan12 stays checked · 1 verified · 6 possiblePhoto: さかおり (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY-SA 4.0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
蔵王 · YamagataZao17 stays checked · 0 verified · 6 possiblePhoto: Raita Futo from Tokyo, Japan (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY 2.0 (licence, opens in a new tab)
那須 · TochigiNasu13 stays checked · 0 verified · 6 possiblePhoto: 663highland (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC BY 2.5 (licence, opens in a new tab)
鬼怒川 · TochigiKinugawa21 stays checked · 7 verified · 3 possiblePhoto: Saigen Jiro (photo page on Wikimedia Commons, opens in a new tab) · CC0 (licence, opens in a new tab)Researched by the Tattoo Onsen Japan editors from each stay's official site (exceptions — a prefecture database or an operator's group-wide policy — are labelled on the stay's page). Data checked 11 Oct 2026. English translations are ours.
Rules change. Before booking, read the stay's page and, if in doubt, ask the stay. How we verify →